The Corporate Women
Where Women are reshaping the corporate world

Indu Sundaresan: Crafting Historical Narratives Infused with Indian Essence


Indu Sundaresan, the esteemed Indian-American author renowned for her historical fiction, has transported readers through time, unveiling the vibrant tapestry of India’s history in her literary creations. Her narrative prowess and commitment to historical authenticity have positioned her as a prominent figure in the realm of historical fiction.

Early Life and Education

Indu Sundaresan’s roots trace back to India, where she spent her formative years as the daughter of an Indian Air Force pilot, Group Captain R. Sundaresan. The family faced adversity when her father tragically lost his life in a duty-related crash, prompting a move to Bangalore. Immersed in the world of books, young Indu developed a profound love for literature and history, foreshadowing her future as a storyteller.

Her academic journey led her to the United States, where she pursued graduate studies at the University of Delaware, earning an MS in operations research and an MA in economics. This academic foundation became a vital underpinning for her later literary endeavours, infusing her narratives with a keen understanding of historical contexts and economic intricacies.

Literary Career

Indu Sundaresan embarked on her literary journey with “The Twentieth Wife,” her debut novel that unfolds the compelling life of Mehrunissa, later known as Empress Nur Jahan, in the Mughal Empire. This historical masterpiece captivated readers with its vivid depiction of the Mughal era and the empowering journey of a woman who defied societal norms.

The success of her debut led to the sequel, “The Feast of Roses,” delving further into Nur Jahan’s life as she wielded influence during her marriage to Emperor Jahangir. Sundaresan’s narrative finesse continued to shine, immersing readers in historical authenticity and a captivating storyline.

The “Taj trilogy” continued with “Shadow Princess,” focusing on Jahanara, daughter of Shahjahan and Mumtaz Mahal, navigating the intricate politics of the Mughal court after her mother’s death.

Sundaresan expanded her historical canvas with “The Splendor of Silence,” set in a fictional Indian princely state on the cusp of independence in 1947. Through her writing, she delved into historical events, creating narratives that resonate globally.

Awards and Recognition

Indu Sundaresan’s contributions to historical fiction garnered prestigious accolades. Her debut novel, “The Twentieth Wife,” earned her the Washington State Book Award in 2003. The Light of India Award for Excellence in Literature further acknowledged her significant impact on the literary landscape.

Notable Works

Indu Sundaresan’s literary repertoire includes:

“Taj Mahal Trilogy”:

  • “Twentieth Wife” (2002)
  • “The Feast of Roses” (2003)
  • “Shadow Princess” (2010)

Other Notable Novels:

  • “The Splendor of Silence” (2006)
  • “In the Convent of Little Flowers” (2008)
  • “The Mountain of Light” (2013)

Her enduring contributions to historical fiction offer readers a captivating journey through centuries, immersing them in India’s historical grandeur and intricacies.


Indu Sundaresan, with her literary prowess, has illuminated the pages of historical fiction, creating evocative narratives steeped in meticulous research. Her ability to transport readers across eras, introducing them to the remarkable lives of historical figures, particularly resilient women breaking societal norms, is a testament to her storytelling finesse. Sundaresan continues to enrich the literary world with tales of love, power, and resilience against the backdrop of India’s fascinating past.



Leave a comment