The Corporate Women
Where Women are reshaping the corporate world

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: The Awaited Spectacle


Get ready for the much-anticipated 13th edition of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, set to grace India from October 5 to November 19, 2023. Cricket aficionados worldwide are gearing up for this biennial one-day international (ODI) extravaganza, where the world’s top teams will vie for the ultimate cricketing glory. Here’s your comprehensive guide to this marquee event.

A Grand Opener in Ahmedabad

The tournament starts with a riveting clash as New Zealand, a cricketing powerhouse, takes on the reigning champions, England. This epic showdown unfolds at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, boasting an astounding capacity of 132,000 spectators. It’s a fitting launch that sets the stage for the excitement to come.

A Nationwide Cricket Carnival

The 2023 World Cup will span 46 days, featuring 48 matches played across ten cities in India. Each of these cities will host a selection of matches, with the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad as the exception, hosting three games.

The crown jewel of the tournament, the Narendra Modi Stadium, not only hosts the opening match but also the grand finale on November 19. The two semifinals will be held at the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai and Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Other host cities include Hyderabad, Dharamsala, New Delhi, Chennai, Lucknow, Pune, and Bengaluru. These venues aren’t just cricket grounds; they’re epicentres of cricketing fervour, uniting fans from every corner of the country.

The Ten Contenders

Ten cricketing nations have earned their spot in the tournament, each with a unique history and an unyielding desire to hoist the coveted trophy. Here’s a glimpse at the participating teams and their best World Cup performances:

  • Afghanistan – Best finish: Group stage
  • Australia – Best finish: Winners (1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015)
  • Bangladesh – Best finish: Quarterfinalists
  • England – Best finish: Winners (2019)
  • India – Best finish: Winners (1983, 2011)
  • Netherlands – Best finish: Group stage
  • New Zealand – Best finish: Runners-up (2015, 2019)
  • Pakistan – Best finish: Winners (1992)
  • South Africa – Best finish: Semifinalists
  • Sri Lanka – Best finish: Winners (1996)

Qualification for this year’s World Cup took a different route, involving matches played from 2020 to 2023 to determine the participants. This approach added an extra layer of competitiveness, ensuring only the cream of the crop made it to the tournament.

Online Ticket Booking

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) opened doors for ICC World Cup 2023 ticket bookings in the second week of August 2023. If you’re eager to secure your spot in the stands and curious about ICC World Cup 2023 ticket prices, you have multiple options at your disposal. The BCCI’s official website and platforms like Book My Show will facilitate your ticket purchase.

Ticket prices for the ICC World Cup 2023 may vary, ranging from 500 to 10,000 rupees, depending on the venue and specific match. To stay updated on ticket prices and any schedule changes, keep an eye on the BCCI’s official website.

The Prize on the Line

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has earmarked a significant prize fund of $10 million for the 2023 World Cup, matching the 2019 edition’s offering. The victorious team will walk away with a staggering $4 million, a testament to the immense pressure and prestige of being crowned World Cup champions.

The runners-up will receive $2 million, while the two other semifinalists will be rewarded with $800,000 each. Even teams not advancing to the knockout stages will not leave empty-handed, receiving $100,000 each for their participation. Additionally, a $40,000 bonus awaits the winners of each group stage match, providing an extra incentive for teams to shine from the very start.

In Conclusion

In conclusion, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 promises to be an epic cricketing extravaganza. With top-tier teams battling it out in some of India’s most iconic cricketing arenas, fans can expect intense matches, nail-biting finishes, and unforgettable moments that will etch themselves into cricketing history. The countdown to this grand sporting spectacle has begun, and the cricketing world eagerly awaits the action-packed journey ahead.



Leave a comment